2019-12-14 . . . 2020-02-01

洪子健

1/1
下一頁

Installation view, The Thing, 2019

Image courtesy of the artist and Empty Gallery.

Installation view, The Thing, 2019

Image courtesy of the artist and Empty Gallery.

The Video of The Thing, 2019, still

Image courtesy of the artist and Empty Gallery.

The Video of The Thing, 2019, still

Image courtesy of the artist and Empty Gallery.

The Book of The Thing, 2019

Image courtesy of the artist and Empty Gallery.

Installation view, The Thing, 2019

Image courtesy of the artist and Empty Gallery.

The Thing, 2019

Image courtesy of the artist and Empty Gallery.

「社會整體性只能夠從外部被感知,像一層皮膚,他者不知何故看到,但我們自身卻永無法窺見。或者它可 被追蹤,像一宗罪行,我們累積它的線索而不明暸我們自身就是這下流地鼓動人心的巨形怪物之部份和器官。」

—— 詹明信

Empty Gallery 很高興為大家帶來美籍台灣電影人及藝術家洪子健在香港的首個個展《The Thing》。洪子健以 研究為本的創作實踐常常著手於知識論和社會政治問題那令人憂慮的相交點,質問為著服務權力而產生、傳播和操 縱知識的方式。從對約翰·卡本特(John Carpenter)1982年的科幻恐怖邪典電影一次異質閱讀為出發點,洪子健 的展覽以一系列如謎似的新雕塑、錄像及聲音作品,發掘並汲取西方哲學史裡各種「物性」理論。與展覽同場的還 有洪子健撰寫的簡短出版物暨宣言《物之書:關於政治、藝術、道德和台灣的觀點》,在當中他以一系列譏諷的、 論題性的、部份自我剖割的格言警句處理上述主題。

這個對於「物性」(或可說是一個外在物件向意識彰顯其自身的方法)簡單的日常問題,儘管有無數的思想家曾為 此付出努力, 但千百年來仍是言人人殊。 對洪子健而言,那永遠無法觸及的客體困擾著整個西方思想史 — 像傷口 結的痂,可以撕出來但永遠無法徹底痊癒。這種狀況在我們當代錯誤信息大氣候中找到其在邏輯上的同類,在當中 我們的感知領域被各種媒體不可靠的所謂主張真相所遮掩、操控和收窄,那我們能夠作出的反應就只能是質疑任何 事情或者是更常見到的,退身到錯誤的確定性中;不能從杜撰之事中分辨真相,或者去處理我們自身作為維持現狀 的合謀者。就此,日常生活變成了一個棘手的哲學問題;但一般人有甚麼責任必須嘗試和解決這個問題呢?

洪子健用以去說清這些問題的主要方法是一系列的三個雕塑 — The Thing and two Other Things — 散置在畫 廊18樓的空間。讓人想起一間玻璃小間房,一個生物標本容器,又或一個博物館展示櫃,這些上了鎖的玻璃陳列 櫥窗,每個都裝著一件被遮蓋的神秘物品,它們的身份除了藝術家本人以外無人知曉。只能經驗如謎似的輪廓 — 安靜而具威迫性的存在潛伏於玻璃和不銹鋼薄膜以外 — 那些「物」有效地充當著象徵性的真空。承載著所有和沒 有 — 或更準確地說不管觀者投射其中的是任何內容 — 它們邀請觀看者去揣測的不是它們作為物件的實際身份, 而是觀者自己在感知上的無效性和知識的局限性。這些主體也反映在同場展出一個名為「Video of The Thing」 (2019)的錄像作品,在當中洪子健模糊及處理其早期作品「The Spear of Destiny: A Film For Everyone and No One」(2003)的影片素材。

於當下這彌漫著偏執、錯誤資訊及犬儒主義的時刻, 恢復對那無法觸及、難以捉摸、從本質上就被誤認了的意識 對象的西方固著,《The Thing》嘗試猜測在全球現代性日益嚴峻的處境下,真正知識或道德行為的難度(或應該 說是其不可能性)。就像洪子健其他作品一樣,這次的創作有時候看似是故意讓觀眾感到沮喪。然而,透過挑起這 種沮喪,他或許旨在舉例說明(儘管是消極地)對於形造我們的種種「真實」一種掌握,或者超越知識接收的追 尋,和一種具批判性的反思。

關於洪子健 (現居於台北)

二十多年來,洪子健持續製作發人深省且偶爾會引起爭議的作品。 2012年,洪子健的短篇作品在IDFA(阿姆斯特丹國際藝錄片節)中首映,同年他參與台北雙年展中共同策展的單 元。 2013年,洪子健的兩件作品在柏林國際影展中(Berlinale)中首映,並在柏林世界文化中心和其他在歐洲及 美國的國際藝術空間中擔任客座藝術家 / 演講者。 2014年,洪子健展出多件作品於香港、台北、舊金山、德國漢 堡藝術學院、中國的中央美院以及南韓的首爾媒體城市展。 2016年,洪子健展出關於鴉片戰爭的複合媒體裝置於 台北、香港及南韓。 2016年,洪子健在柏林電影節、基輔雙年展和日本形象論壇上首映一部新的紀錄片。 2016 年,他參與的視覺藝術活動涵蓋了整個東亞,他也在台北雙年展中,首次展演了一場關於尼采的演講 / 表演裝置。 2017年,洪子健在紐約的古根漢美術館、德國的世界文化中心和Württembergischer Kunstverein、東京的淺 草展出影片和其他作品,同年,他還在紐約開啟了e-flux的系列講座。 2018年,洪子健有關尼采的作品的縮減版 本,首次在新加玻當代藝術學院展出;他還策劃了在台北舉辦的第九屆臺灣實驗媒體藝術展,並在釜山國際影展 中,發表了有關於生物戰的新紀錄片作品〈潰爛癒合掩藏〉,獲得當年的最佳紀錄片獎。

2019-12-14 . . . 2020-02-01

The Thing

James T. Hong

1/1
next

Installation view, The Thing, 2019

Image courtesy of the artist and Empty Gallery.

Installation view, The Thing, 2019

Image courtesy of the artist and Empty Gallery.

The Video of The Thing, 2019, still

Image courtesy of the artist and Empty Gallery.

The Video of The Thing, 2019, still

Image courtesy of the artist and Empty Gallery.

The Book of The Thing, 2019

Image courtesy of the artist and Empty Gallery.

Installation view, The Thing, 2019

Image courtesy of the artist and Empty Gallery.

The Thing, 2019

Image courtesy of the artist and Empty Gallery.

“The social totality can only be sensed, as it were, from the outside, like a skin at which the Other somehow looks, but which we ourselves will never see. Or it can be tracked, like a crime, whose clues we accumulate, not knowing that we are ourselves parts and organs of this obscenely moving and stirring zoological monstrosity.”

– Fredric Jameson

Empty Gallery is pleased to present The Thing, Taiwanese-American filmmaker and artist James T. Hong’s first solo exhibition in Hong Kong. Hong’s research-based practice often operates along the fraught intersection of epistemological and socio-political questions, interrogating the manner in which knowledge is produced, disseminated, and manipulated in the service of power. The Thing takes his idiosyncratic reading of John Carpenter’s cult 1982 science-fiction horror film as a point of departure, exhuming and assimilating diverse theories of “thingness” from the history of Western philosophy within a series of enigmatic new sculptures, video and sound works. The exhibition is accompanied by The Book of the Thing: Remarks on Politics, Art, Morality, and Taiwan, a short publication cum manifesto in which Hong addresses the aforementioned subjects through a series of sardonic, topical, and occasionally self-lacerating aphorisms.

Despite the efforts of countless thinkers, the simple everyday question of “thingness” – or the means by which an external object can manifest itself to consciousness – has remained contested ground for millennia. For Hong, the perpetually inaccessible object haunts the history of Western thought – like a scab which can be picked at, but never entirely healed. This state of affairs finds its logical parallel in our contemporary climate of misinformation, in which our field of perception is so clouded, manipulated, and narrowed by the dubious truth claims of various media that we can react only by doubting everything, or more commonly, retreating into false certitude; unable to distinguish truth from fiction or to address our own complicity in the maintenance of the status quo. Everyday life has thus come to resemble an intractable philosophical problem; but what responsibility does the average person have to try and solve this problem?

The primary means that Hong has chosen to articulate these questions are a series of three sculptures – The Thing and two Other Things – interspersed throughout the 18th floor gallery. Recalling a glass-walled cubicle, a biological specimen container, or a museum display case, these locked vitrines each contain and obscure a mysterious object whose identity remains unknown to all but the artist. Experienced only as enigmatic silhouettes – quietly menacing presences lurking beyond membranes of glass and stainless steel – the “things” effectively function as symbolic vacuums. Containing both everything and nothing – or precisely whatever content the viewer projects into them – they invite the beholder to speculate not so much on their actual identity as objects, but on their own perceptual inavailability and the limits of knowledge. These themes are mirrored in an accompanying video work entitled Video of The Thing (2019) in which Hong obfuscates and processes footage from his own early work, The Spear of Destiny: A Film For Everyone and No One (2003).

Reanimating the occidental fixation on the inaccessible, opaque and fundamentally misrecognized object of consciousness for a contemporary moment suffused by paranoia, misinformation, and cynicism, The Thing attempts to speculate on the difficulty, (perhaps impossibility) of genuine knowledge or moral action under the increasingly bleak conditions of global modernity. As with elsewhere in his oeuvre, Hong’s work can sometimes seem to be a deliberate exercise in viewer frustration. However, by provoking this frustration, he perhaps aims to instantiate, albeit negatively, a grasping or searching beyond received knowledge and a critical reflection on the “truths” which have formed us.

 

James T. Hong (Lives and works in Taipei)

James T. Hong has been producing thought-provoking and occasionally controversial works for over twenty years. In 2012, Hong premiered a short doc at IDFA (International Documentary Festival Amsterdam) and co-curated a section of the Taipei Biennial. In 2013, he premiered two works at the Berlin International Film Festival (Berlinale) and was a guest artist/speaker at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW) and other international art spaces in Europe and the USA. In 2014, Hong exhibited a number of works in Hong Kong, Taipei, and San Francisco and at the Hamburg Kunstverein in Germany, the Central Academy of Fine Arts in China, and the Mediacity Seoul Biennial in South Korea. In 2015, his multimedia installation about the Opium Wars was exhibited in Taiwan, Hong Kong, and South Korea. In 2016, Hong premiered a new documentary at the Berlinale, Kiev Biennial, and Image Forum in Japan. Throughout 2016, Hong participated in visual art shows throughout East Asia, and he premiered a lecture/performance installation about Friedrich Nietzsche at the Taipei Biennial. In 2017, Hong presented films or other works at the Guggenheim Museum in New York, HKW and Württembergischer Kunstverein in Germany, and Asakusa in Tokyo. Hong also inaugurated the 2017 e-flux lecture series in NYC. In 2018, Hong premiered an abbreviated, installation version of his 2016 Nietzsche work at the Institute of Contemporary Arts in Singapore, curated the 9th Taiwan Experimental Media Festival in Taipei, and premiered a new documentary about biological warfare at the Busan International Film Festival where it won Best Documentary (Mecenat Award).