2015-09-11 . . . 2015-10-21

靜物之聲

Rolf Julius, Tomoko Sauvage, Rubén D’Hers 及 Marc Hurtado

1/1
下一頁

In Curved Water, 2015

Image courtesy of Tomoko Sauvage and Empty Gallery

Photo by Kitmin Lee

In Curved Water, 2015

Image courtesy of Tomoko Sauvage and Empty Gallery

Photo by Kitmin Lee

In Curved Water, 2015

Image courtesy of Tomoko Sauvage and Empty Gallery

Photo by Kitmin Lee

 

Large Stonegarden (monochrome), 2010

Image courtesy of Rolf Julius estate and Empty Gallery

Photo by Kitmin Lee

Cristo Fué y Guacamaya, 2015

Image courtesy of Rubén D’Hers and Empty Gallery

Photo by Kitmin Lee

Cristo Fué y Guacamaya, 2015

Image courtesy of Rubén D’Hers and Empty Gallery

Photo by Kitmin Lee

Cristo Fué y Guacamaya, 2015

Image courtesy of Rubén D’Hers and Empty Gallery

Photo by Kitmin Lee

Image courtesy of Marc Hurtado and Empty Gallery

Photo by Kitmin Lee

Large Stonegarden (monochrome), 2010

Image courtesy of Rolf Julius estate and Empty Gallery

Photo by Kitmin Lee

Singing II, 2006

Image courtesy of Rolf Julius estate and Empty Gallery

Photo by Kitmin Lee

The Empty Gallery 策劃的群展「靜物之聲」,為 The Empty Gallery 一系列跨領域藝術展覽的首 個項目。是次展出四位聲音藝術家的作品,包括 Tomoko Sauvage (日本)、Rubén D’Hers (委內瑞拉)、Rolf Julius (德國)及 Marc Hurtado(法國)。「靜物之聲」透過不同作品探 索複雜且微妙的聲音藝術世界,參與展出的藝術家們以多種聲音形式創作,每件作品均包含取 材自自然環境的強烈視覺元素。而 The Empty Gallery 獨具特色的全黑色室內空間,將突顯是 次展出作品所帶來的多重感官體驗。

 

日本聲音藝術家 Tomoko Sauvage 的作品《In Curved Water》寧靜而具震撼力。作品於藝術空 間的主展廊位置展出,如鑽石般的大型冰塊懸掛半空,在其下方是放有水聽器的瓷碗。當冰塊 隨時間逐漸融化,水點滴進碗中,聲音則由水聽器放大,創作出隨時間逐漸改變、每一刻均是 獨一無二的聲音。《In Curved Water》由視覺和聲音元素組成,是一場觸動人心的冥想,讓人 思索一閃即逝的事物。

委內瑞拉音樂人及藝術家 Rubén D’Hers 的作品《cristo fué y guacamaya》將會出現在 The Empty Gallery 的門廳位置。這個神秘發聲裝置,由兩個鳥籠組成,再交疊鋼絲弦線,形成近於 原始的吉他。由發動機推動的羽毛撥動琴弦發出聲響,再與在空間中迴蕩的鳥聲融和交匯。 Rubén D’Hers 受到勞森伯格和杜尚一些作品的啟發,策略性地在觀眾的感官認知中,形成「所 見」與「所聞」的差距,產生一種神秘感。

此次展覽亦展出已故德國聲音藝術家 Rolf Julius 的兩組作品。極簡主義作品《Singing II》由兩 個以黑色顏料粉末覆蓋的掛式音箱組成,將放置在畫廊入口,迎接參觀者。音箱播放藝術家作 品播放的同時,其震動會讓本身及顏料粉末作出仿佛「呼吸」及「盤旋」的動態,喚起來自自 然界的節奏。另一作品《Large Stonegarden》則取材自日式禪園,自然界的聲音遊走於由小石 塊組成的禪園四周,著觀眾反思內在與外在、自然與科技,技巧手段與有機自然之間微妙的關 係。

除此之外,The Empty Gallery 的放映室將會有著名工業音樂人、電影製片人及 Etant Donnes 成 員 Marc Hurtado 具開創性的實驗電影作品《Aurore》、《Royaume》及《Bleu》。這些作品收 納在紐約現代藝術博物館以及紐約經典電影資料館的館藏之中,極少作公開展出。Marc Hurtado 結合抽象視覺元素、現場錄音以及詩歌低語,在作品中將自然世界描繪成具強烈感官 的場域。

 

The Empty Gallery 創辦人鄭成然表示:「我們很高興能在 The Empty Gallery 同場展出四位風格 迥異的聲音藝術家的作品。『靜物之聲』是 The Empty Gallery 一連串實驗及經驗藝術展覽的首 個項目。我們關注的是抗衡固有概念主義的藝術品,策展理念強調感受作品先於理解概念的藝 術經驗。另外,此次展覽也突顯 The Empty Gallery 堅持突破『中性』展覽設計框架,努力尋求 創新、貼近展覽內容以及使參觀者產生更真切經驗的展示方式。」

2015-09-11 . . . 2015-10-21

Sonorous Objects

Rolf Julius, Tokoko Sauvage, Rubén d’Hers and Marc Hurtado


The Empty Gallery is proud to present ‘Sonorous Objects’, the first exhibition in a series of multidisciplinary shows curated in this new Hong Kong contemporary art space. Featuring works by four international sound artists, Tomoko Sauvage (Japan), Ruben D’Hers (Venezuela), Rolf Julius (Germany) and Marc Hurtado (France), ‘Sonorous Objects’ will explore the complex and nuanced field of sound art through a range of different art works. While each of the artists have used sound in a variety ways in their practice, all of the works on display will include a strong visual element that references to the natural world. The resulting multisensory experiences created by these works will be heightened by the unique setting of The Empty Gallery’s entirely black interior.


Japanese sound artist Tomoko Sauvage will present her quiet yet monumental piece In Curved Water, in which large diamonds of melting ice are suspended above bowls of water. Dominating the gallery’s main space, these crystals will slowly disappear, dripping water into the bowls beneath them. Hydrophones will amplify the sound of the droplets, creating a unique and unrepeatable acoustic event which subtly changes with the passage of time. Synthesizing both visual and aural elements, In Curved Water is a strikingly sensual meditation on temporality.

Venezuelan musician and artist Rubén D’Hers will install cristo fué y guacamaya in The Empty Gallery foyer. This mysterious sound-making device consists of two bird cages, overlapped by steel strings, forming a sort of primitive guitar. The piece is then “strummed” by motorized bird-feathers and joined by bird song which floats through the space. Recalling certain works by Rauschenberg and Duchamp, Rubén creates a strategic “gap” between the seen and the heard to provoke a sense of mystery.

The exhibition will also include two works by late German sound artist Rolf Julius. Singing II, a minimalist piece consisting of two hanging speakers dusted with black pigment, will welcome visitors as they step into the gallery. As Julius’ compositions play, the vibration of the speaker membranes cause both pigment and speakers to seem to “breathe” and “hover”, evoking the organic rhythms of nature inside the gallery. Elsewhere in the space, Large Stonegarden recalls a Japanese Zen garden. Sounds from nature dance around a garden of small stones, asking us to reflect on the relationship between inside and outside, nature and technology, artifice and organicity.

Lastly, legendary Industrial musician and filmmaker Marc Hurtado (of the group Etant Donnes) will show his seminal experimental films Aurore, Royaume, and Bleu in The Empty Gallery’s screening room. These rarely shown works are held in collection by MOMA and Anthology Film Archives and depict the natural world as a place of startling sensuality and intensity through a unique combination of abstract visuals, field recordings, and whispered poetry.


Founder of The Empty Gallery Stephen Cheng said, “We are delighted to bring together works by four diverse sound artists for the first in a series of experiential and experimental exhibitions at The Empty Gallery. ‘Sonorous Objects’ showcases our keen interest in works which buck the prevailing tendency towards conceptualism and reaffirm the primacy of the object in artistic experience. Additionally, this show is an example of our commitment to bypassing a “neutral” model of exhibition design and searching for new, contextually relevant, and sensually immersive modes of presentation.”